Facebook Page
New Zealand Rail Maps: Home Page

New Zealand Rail Maps
Home Page

New Zealand Rail Maps provides free high-quality maps of the national railway network of New Zealand. All maps are licensed for re-use under Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike NZ 3.0.

For more information about the maps project choose one of the links below.

The maps are organised into volumes for particular areas. Choose a volume from the list below. In order to keep costs to a minimum, project content is hosted across a number of different free host sites. These presently include Facebook, Blogger, Google Photos, Google Drive, Flickr, Trainweb and Scribd. The purpose of this website is to collate and index that content for easy access without having to remember a bunch of different URLs. So for all NZ Rail Maps content, start here every time.

In order to allow you to monitor changes to the site the most recent updates will be summarised under the Updates heading below. We recommend using the free service to check this Updates section for changes so that you can keep up with new content as it is added. (Click the above link to see how to use this service with this web site)


2018-01-11: Added blog post links to all remaining volumes which have no other content as yet. (If there is no other content check the blog as it may link to related content)

2018-01-05: Added content for Volume 11 - Dunback & Makareao Branches

2017-12-18: Added content for Volume 10 - Waiau Branch

2017-11-20: Added set of historical maps of Clyde to Cromwell for Volume 12

2017-11-09: Completed maps of Alexandra to Cromwell for Volume 12

2017-10-24: Added curve and gradient diagrams to the Reference resources collection for Volume 12

2017-10-24: Added content for Volume 12 - Otago Central Railway

2017-10-17: Added content for Volume 7 - Nelson Section

2017-10-07: Added content for Volume 12 - Otago Central Railway

2017-10-06: Created website for


Map Keys & Data

Volume 1

North Auckland Line • Okaihau Branch • Opua Branch • Bay of Islands Vintage Railway • Kaihu Branch • Dargaville Branch • Onerahi Branch • Riverhead Branch • Marsden Point Corridor

Volume 2

North Island Main Trunk • Newmarket Branch • Onehunga Branch • Manukau Branch • Mission Bush Branch • Waiuku Branch • Glenbrook Vintage Railway • Glen Afton Branch • Pukemiro Line • Wilton Collieries Line • Raetihi Branch • Foxton Branch • Johnsonville Branch

Volume 3

East Coast Main Trunk • Goldfields Railway • Pokeno-Paeroa Corridor • Cambridge Branch • Waitoa / Thames Branch • Kinleith Branch • Rotorua Branch • Mt Maunganui Branch • Taneatua Branch • Murupara Branch • Matahina Tramway

Volume 4

Marton New Plymouth Line • Stratford Okahukura Line • Wanganui Branch • Waitara Branch • Egmont Branch • Kapuni / Opunake Branch

Volume 5

Palmerston North Gisborne Line • Makaraka / Moutohora Branch • Ngatapa Branch • Ahuriri Branch • Gisborne-Opotiki Corridor • Gisborne City Vintage Railway

Volume 6

Wairarapa Line • Greytown Branch • Rimutaka Incline Railway • Gracefield Branch • Hutt Park Railway • Silver Stream Railway

Volume 7

Nelson Section • Gowanbridge-Murchison Corridor • Nelson 1960 Proposal • Founders Park Railway • Grand Tapawera Railroad Co

Volume 8

Stillwater Ngakawau Line • Seddonville Branch • Conns Creek Branch • Cape Foulwind Branch • Blackball Branch

Volume 9

Midland Line • Whitecliffs Branch • Rewanui Branch • Rapahoe Branch • Hokitika / Ross Branch • Shantytown

Volume 10

Main North Line • Blenheim Riverside Railway • Waiau Branch • Weka Pass Railway • Oxford Branch • Eyreton Branch

Volume 11

Main South Line • Ferrymead Railway • Southbridge Branch • Little River Branch / Rail Trail • Methven Branch • Springburn Branch • Plains Railway • Fairlie Branch • Pleasant Point Railway • Waimate Branch • Kurow Branch • Ngapara Branch • Tokarahi Branch • Moeraki Branch • Shag Point Branch • Dunback Branch • Makareao Branch • Port Chalmers Branch • Walton Park Branch • Fernhill Branch • Outram Branch • Roxburgh Branch • Kaitangata Collieries Line • Catlins River Branch • Tapanui Branch • Waikaka Branch • Glenham Branch • Seaward Bush Branch • Bluff Branch

Volume 12

Otago Central Railway • Taieri Branch • Taieri Gorge Railway • Otago Central Rail Trail • Kingston Branch • Wairio Branch • Ohai Board Railway • Tuatapere Branch • Browns Branch • Waimea Plains Railway • Waikaka Branch • Mossburn Branch • Kingston Flyer

Since 1 February 2008.

This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence.