Facebook Page
RailPAC Annual Meeting, NARP Regional Meeting May 2, 2009

RailPAC Annual Meeting, NARP Region XII Meeting

MTA Board Room, LAMTA Building, Gateway Center, Los Angeles (adjacent to east entrance to Union Station)




May 2, 2009

Table of Contents

<>9:15 Cafe Open - Registration and Badges - Complimentary Coffee and Pastries

<>10:30  Amtrak into the 21st Century -- Joseph H. Boardman, President and CEO, Amtrak (NRPC)

11:30  The National Picture - What's Happening in DC -- Don Phillips, Trains Magazine Columnist

11:50  Passenger and Freight, Prosperity in Cooperation -- Walter N. Smith, General Director, Commuter Construction, BNSF Railway

12:30  Lunch - Box Lunch in Cafeteria

<>1:30  California Corridors & Regional Rail


<>2:30  High Speed Rail

<><>    <>            •  Ron Diridon, Sr., Chairman Emeritus, California High Speed Rail Authority

•  Erin Steva, Transportation Associate, California Public Interest Research Group

3:15  The Sunset Limited - Amtrak's Plan

•   Brian Rosenwald, Chief, Product Management,  Amtrak

[ Next Page - Pre-Meeting | Table of Contents | Other Reports by Carl Morrison | |  Depot Inn & Suites ]



RailPAC kept the Press Releases coming for us reporters who planned to attend:

Saturday, May 2, 2009

9:15 Registration, Coffee; 10:15 Meeting starts in the MTA Board Room at Gateway Center, Los Angeles, located behind Union Station.

Confirmed Speakers:


Amtrak CEO Joseph Boardman, (above left), VP Brian Rosenwald, and VP Richard Phelps


Don Phillips, (above) long time rail writer and special columnist for TRAINS Magazine!


William “Bill” Bronte, (above left) Chief, Caltrans Rail Program, will update us on the complexities of funding the state’s rail programs.


Rod Diridon, (above) member, California High Speed Rail Authority board,

Bruce Armistead, Parsons Brinkerhoff, will update us on the big HSR project.

Video Gallery

Explore state-of-the-art renderings of the high-speed train system:

Co-chairs: Paul Dyson, RailPAC President, and George Chilson, NARP Chairman. Registration Chairman: Richard Silver.